Films, the story of my life.

I already did a blog about the music that created the soundtrack to my life now I want to share with you the films that had the biggest influence on my life.

The Lion King: I may loose friends by saying this, I hate Disney for a number of reasons that I won’t go into at the moment but as a child I loved a good Disney film. I include the Lion King in this list not because the film particularly has any emotional value to me, quite frankly I can’t remember most of it but it was the first film I went to see at the cinema. I was five and went with my mum, Auntie Anne and her son Mark. I remember it was just really exciting, we got sweets and there was loads of other kids there and the screen was SO big! Most of all I felt really proud when we got home and my mum told my dad how good I had been managing to sit through a whole film (I was a fidgety child).

Practical Magic: The first film I ever went to see underage (it was a 12 and I was 10 )and the people sneaking me in where my parents! I think I dealt with it well considering it scares me to watch even now but it sparked my interest in the paranormal which is something I continue to be interested in to this ay.

Ghost World: My mum bought me this on VHS when I was about 14 just guessing it might be something I would like and I don’t think she knows to this day how spot on she was. This is the first film I actively remember relating to, even though I watch this film and cringe at the thought of being anything like the main character. This film lead me to a whole host of films to relate to which I think as a human being its nice to know even if its just a film character that someone else thinks like you. These other films included American Beauty, Mini’s First Time and Thirteen.

The Ring: My real fascination with horror films came from watching this film at my 15th birthday party. Nice touch came from my mum who rang the house phone half way through the film – crafty! Since then I have loved horror films and exploring the extremities that I can watch. I even did my dissertation at university on horror films which surprisingly gave me a good mark.

Catfish: The first in a long line of fascinating films about my generation, finally! I’ve done a lot of online dating so the whole concept of catfish fascinated me. Its so easy to believe something that you want so badly to be real. I struggle to think of many things I’ve watched that I’ve felt such an affinity to the main character and really felt all his emotions along with him.

Lost in Translation: I am a woman, ask any female they all have that one film that defines romance for them, this is mine. I love how subtle the whole film is, as there is no romance there is no big romantic gesture. Despite the lack of lovey dovey this to me is still a love story about two people despite their differences coming together on a level most people can only imagine.

Fight Club: Anyone who has studied Sociology at any level with probably confirm to you the massive emphasis that is put on Fight Club. I struggle to think of one subject at university that didn’t have at least a reference to it. It influences me because it made me think beyond what I thought was my box, similarly to V for Vendetta it made me question and evaluate. Plus it is just awesome. I’m sure I don’t have to explain the ins and outs of it but I leave you with this quote ‘It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything’.

Happy nearly weekend!

About outoftheboxsociologist

Lancaster university certified, rubbish talking, madness collecting sociologist... love to rant and grumble
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment